First Run

I’ve been wanting to run for a while now, but it was always too cold and then I had problems with my ankle,  so when it started to feel better I decided I would go for my first run the next day.
I had already looked up a few ideas on how to get started, since I’m out of shape and overweight, I didn’t wanna over- or underdo it.
I had already planned a route that I usually take when riding my bike, where no one would see my first pathetic attempts.
The couch to 5k plan says to do a 5 minute warm up walk, which I stretched to 8 minutes to get to a point where I knew I would be alone.
By the time I got there the baby was asleep in the stroller.
You’re supposed to start with intervals of 60 seconds of running and 90 seconds walking, for a total of 20 minutes.
For me it worked out to be more like 60 seconds of running and 120 of walking for a total of 15 minutes, but I figured I’m
A) pushing a heavy stroller that is NOT made for running and
B) Combined with my 8 minutes of warm up (that I still had to walk back) I think I did pretty good.

The best part?

I was SO proud of myself afterwards.
I felt great and had a ton of energy for the rest of the day.

I was gonna go again today but Lee had a doctor’s appointment in the morning so he wasnt going to preschool.
However, I still got a bit of exercise because on the way home, Lee couldn’t walk anymore (he’s still a little sick, though the antibiotics he is on are helping tons) so I carried him.
About a quarter-mile from our house I saw an old lady and her bicycle lying in the middle of the road. There was a man there already helping so I asked if there was anything I could do to help and she asked me to go to her house and tell her Son what happened,So I asked her for the address, repeated it back to her and started walking as fast as I could to her house (whilst carrying my 35 lbs kid the whole time) it wasnt far (half a mile) I let the son know, he said he would go to her and that was it. I still had to carry Lee the quarter-mile back to our house, poor kid was almost frozen solid 😦
That was my excercise for the day.

Tomorrow, if it’s not too cold, I plan to practise running again 🙂

Leave a Reply

